Steve Gibson joins Tees regeneration board

steve gibson

Steve Gibson has joined a 17-person team tasked to drive growth in an area of Teesside.

Just days after celebrating Boro’s return to the Premier League, Gibson and 16 other Tees leaders have committed to work together to give parts of the area a shot in the arm.

Plans to drive growth and secure the economic future of Teesside in the wake of the SSI collapse have been put forward by the Shadow Board for the South Tees Development Corporation.

The independent shadow board, which is made up of elected leaders from each of the area’s five councils and partners from leading businesses, will focus on the regeneration of a 5,000-acre area south of the River Tees, including the former SSI site.

As well as council leaders, the board includes TVU chairman Paul Booth, SSI Task Force chair Amanda Skelton, Trinity Mirror North East managing director Bob Cuffe and Michael Poole, senior partner at Michael Poole estate agents.

The board met for the first time on Tuesday, and is said to be the first of many over the coming months.

The shadow board in full includes:

Bob Cook (Stockton Council leader)
Dave Budd (Mayor of Middlesbrough)
Sue Jeffrey (Redcar & Cleveland Council leader)
Bill Dixon (Darlington Council leader)
Christopher Akers-Belcher (Hartlepool Council leader)
Paul Booth OBE (Chair of Tees Valley Local Enterprise Partnership)
Steve Gibson (Chairman of Middlesbrough Football Club)
Graham Robb (Senior Partner at Recognition Marketing and PR)
Philip Leech (Property Director at Urban & Civic plc)
Michael Poole (Senior Partner at Michael Poole Property Consultants)
John Baker (Trustee of Middlesbrough Football Club Foundation)
David Smith (Chief Executive of the Energy Networks Association)
Bob Cuffe (Regional Managing Director of Trinity Mirror North East)
Sir Alan Cockshaw (Former Chief Executive and then Chairman of AMEC Group)
Jane Turner (Pro Vice Chancellor at Teesside University)
Marian Sudbury (Director of Global Operations for Inward Investment at UKTI)
Amanda Skelton (Chair of SSI Task Force)


Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply