Yarm-based beauty entrepreneur shortlisted for top award

Tees Business Digital Media Pack

Yarm-based health and beauty entrepreneur Simi Sanghera is among the finalists who will compete for the North East Businesswomen of the Year Awards 2017.

Also short-listed for the prestigious awards are businesswomen Heather Watkins, of Durham’s Great & Small Clothing, Allison Raper, Teesdale Cheesemakers of Barnard Castle, and Jackie Robshaw of Stanley-based Marmax Recycling Products.

Nickie Gott, She’s Gott It Events and chair of the North East England Chamber of Commerce’s Women’s Advisory Board, said: “The standard of entries this year has been exceptional, with a really great range of experience and business sectors represented.

“Every one of our finalists is already a winner with what they have achieved. I am delighted to be able to promote them and the example they give to other businesswomen around the North East, whatever stage they are at in their career.”

The full shortlist and the business categories they are competing for is below. Winners will be announced on Friday, October 27 at the Hilton, NewcastleGateshead.

• Best Creative Business – Sponsored by She’s Gott It! Events
Fiona Simpson – Artventurers
Jo-Anne Torre – Decote Dance
Rachel Lumley & Kathryn Meadows – Katie’s Garden

• Best Small Business – Sponsored by Tees Valley Combined Authority
Fiona Simpson – Artventurers
Jo-Anne Torre – Decote Dance
Michaela Reaney – Gradvert

• Best New Business – Sponsored by Natwest
Sheridan Mordew – Shape up with Sher
Allison Raper – Teesdale Cheesemakers
Heather Watkins – Great & Small Clothing

• Young Entrepreneur of the Year Awards
Lizzy Hodcroft – The Sweet Beet UK
Rachel Lumley – Katie’s Garden
Simi Sanghera – Bellissimi Beauty

• Rising Star Award – Sponsored by Virgin Money
Sheridan Mordew – Shape up with Sher
Luisa Scott – Newcastle Skin Clinic
Bethany Robertson – Sage UK

• Woman in STEM Award – Sponsored by Newcastle High School for Girls
Gill Rice – Tyne Valley Plastics
Jackie Robshaw – Marmax Recycling Products
Estelle Blanks – Innovate NE

• The One to Watch Award
Sheridan Mordew – Shape up with Sher
Jemma Morland – EMG Solicitors
Tori Johansen & Helen Pyke – Believe & Be

• The Leadership Award
Jemma Morland – EMG Solicitors
Stephanie Young – Go North East
Lynsey Wilson – Virgin Money

• The Inspire Me Award
Fiona Simpson – Artventurers
Janet Maitland – Hair Excellence
Zoe Strong – Sage UK

• The Susan Dobson Award for Entrepreneurship
Joanne Feeley – Trend Bible
Janet Maitland – Hair Excellence
Jackie Robshaw – Marmax Recycling Products


Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply