Full list of Tees Tech Awards finalists revealed

The full list of finalists for the second annual Tees Tech Awards has been revealed, with Animmersion, Salesfire and Circle Cloud set to battle it out for Company of the Year.

Meanwhile, it’s been confirmed that the Business Leader of the Year will be named as either Bob Makin of SockMonkey Studios, Paid’s Tom Howsam or Richard Bendelow of AeroCommerce.

Those six are the final names to be confirmed as category finalists for the Tees Tech Awards 2021, organised by Tees Business in association with Middlesbrough Digital and DigitalCity, taking place on Thursday, July 1 at Hardwick Hall.

Category sponsors chose the three finalists. Sponsors will next independently score the finalists to help select category winners, who will only be unveiled on the night of the awards.

Tees Business co-editor Martin Walker said: “Congratulations to all the finalists who fully deserve to have their names in the spotlight after achieving success in the most challenging of Covid-induced circumstances.

“Now we’re all keeping our fingers crossed that the Indian variant doesn’t knock the government’s roadmap off course and we can go ahead with a real event, as planned.

“But the very worst that can happen is we’ll switch to the successful virtual event that worked so well for our inaugural awards last year.”

DigitalCity’s David Dixon said: “The quality of the businesses and that of the submissions this year is incredible. We really have a sector to be proud of and the most exciting thing…there is so much more left in the tank too.”

Daniel Watson of Middlesbrough Digital added: “It’s been fantastic to see the shortlists for the Tees Tech Awards coming through over the past two weeks. The level of quality in each category is tremendous and is certainly going to result in some difficult decisions for those scoring.”

The list of category finalists is:

Company of the Year (sponsored by DigitalCity and Middlesbrough Digital)
Salesfire UK
Circle Cloud

Business Leader of the Year (Punch Robson Solicitors)
Bob Makin (SockMonkey Studios)
Richard Bendelow (AeroCommerce)
Tom Howsam (Paid)

Tees Tech Ambassador (Cornerstone Business Solutions)
Dean Benson (Visualsoft)
David Dixon (DigitalCity)
Mark South (DoubleEleven)

Best Digital Project/Campaign (sponsored by Teesside University)
Salesfire UK
In Studio

Unsung Hero (Tees Valley Business Hub)
Zulfiqur Ali (Teesside University)
Steve Dougan (Teesside University)
Darren Falcus (SockMonkey Studios)

Tech for Good (Racz Group)
High Tide Foundation
In Studio
The Hope Foundation

Small Business of the Year (sponsored by Jacksons Law Firm)
Circle Cloud
Life Ninja Education

Innovation Award (sponsored by Erimus Insurance Brokers)
Everflow Tech

Best Newcomer (sponsored by Python Properties)
Dash Media
Evolution XR
Unforgettable Experiences

Digital Transformation (sponsored by Azets)
Jacksons Law Firm
My Marketing Button
Sapere Software

Rising Star (sponsored by Middlesbrough College)
Chris Goodyear (Many Cats Studios)
Mia Simpson (OES Oilfield Services)